About Department

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics is divided into three main groups: Condensed mater, Nuclear and Particle (high energy) Physics. The groups offer the degrees of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.), the Master of Science (MS) and the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.).

Research Activities

The research interests of the department are mainly focused in the fields of Computational condensed mater Physics, Nuclear Physics, High Energy Physics, Mathematical Physics and Experimental Solid State Physics.

Since 2003, the physics department of IUT is acting as an Affiliated Center of Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics and Mathematics (ICTP). Based on this mission, the department is hosting several physicists from regional countries every year. These visitors perform their joint research projects during the 1-3 months periods that are visiting IUT.

Computational Condensed Mater Physics

This group is involved with the study of structural, electronic, magnetic and dynamic properties of crystals by ab-initio methods. These calculations are based on minimizing total energy techniques using density functional and full potential as well as pseudo potential approach. Wien2k, which is based on FP-LAP approach and also PWscf as apseudo potential code are the two softwares that are extensively used in this group.

Nuclear Physics

Nuclear fusion and the transport of nuclear radiation in matter are the main subjects under consideration.

Nuclear fusion is studied by the following methods:

Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF), Magnetic Confinement Fusion (MCF) and Muon Catalyzed Fusion (CF). In these studies targets and blankets are designed and kinetics of fusion and the parameters that increase fusion gain are investigated.

The transport of nuclear radiation in matter is simulated by the method of Monte-Carlo and quantities of interest such as absorbed does values in soft and hard tissues and also exposure build up factors are calculated.

High Energy Physics and Mathematical Physics

The main research subjects in this area consist of the constrained systems, Ads/CFT correspondence, supersymmetry quantum mechanics and topological symmetries, non-commutative space-time and its phenomenological aspects, weak decay and mass spectroscopy of heavy hadrons.

Experimental Solid State Physics

The group is mainly involved in the studies of high temperature superconductivity and magnetic properties of materials. Preparation of Bi and Y based high temperature superconductors and measurement of their magnetic susceptibility, resistivity and critical current are also performed. The magnetic properties of materials such as different types of ferrites and characterization of samples by X-ray and electron microscopic techniques are among other topics of research. A joint project has been recently started on the preparation of super conducting as well as dielectric thin films and the measurement of their magnetic and transport properties .

Research Facilities

The range of equipment available in the areas of interest at the department is varied, the most important of which are as follows:

- AC-Susceptometer & AC-Resistivity measurement

- 1.2T Electromagnet (B. Mn 90/30 C5)

- Programmable tube and cubic furnaces

- X-Ray generator

- Debye-Scherre and Laue cameras

- Scanning Electron Microscope

- X-ray Differactometer


Undergraduate students must take 135 Credits as follows:

a) 20 credits from General Courses.

b) 33 credits of basic courses (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Computer Sciences).

c) 71 credits as physics courses (Classical Mechanics, Electromagnetism, Modern Physics, Thermodynamics, Statistical Mechanics, Mathematical Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Optics, Solid State Physics, Nuclear Physics , Special Relativity, Computational Physics , Elementary Particle Physics , Reactor Physics, Electronics, Particle Accelerators , Superconductivity, Crystallography, Semiconducting devices, Radiation Detectors, ...).

d) Optional Courses (11 Credits)

Physics students may take 12 credits in other fields of physics or from other departments.

For non physics students, the department also offers general physics and lab. (Mechanics, Heat , Electricity and Magnetism , Waves , General Physics , Electricity , Basic Physics I and II , Electronic Physics, General Phys. Lab., Electricity and Magnetism Lab., Heat Lab.).


The graduate Program is divided into the three parallel fields: Condensed mater, Nuclear physics and Particle physics (high energy physics).

In PhD. program, every student will take 45 credits beyond his(her) MS, including 18 credits or 6 courses in the field of study, 3 credits as seminar (I, II and III) and PhD. Thesis (24 Credits).

In MS program, every student will take 32 credits as follows:

a)15 credits as compulsory courses (Electrodynamics, Quantum Mechanics I & II, Statistical Mechanics I, and Computational Physics or Advanced Laboratory).

b) 6 credits as specialized fields courses (Solid state Physics I & II, Nuclear Physics I & II or Particle Physics I & II)

c) 3 credits as an optional course (Classical Mechanics or graduate courses from other specialized fields).

d) Physics Seminar (2 Credits).

e) MS Thesis (6 Credits).